North Jersey Section of the ACS

Chair's Message: [ 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 ]

Message from Jefferson Tilley, 2013 Chair

Jefferson Tilley

January, 2013

My fellow members of the ACS,

As life in Northern New Jersey returns toward normal after Sandy, I want to thank you for providing me the opportunity to serve as Chair of the North Jersey Section (NJ ACS) for 2013. Like any successful volunteer organization, we depend on a dedicated core of officers and active participants who give selflessly for the benefit of all. I look forward to working with all of you to continue to support the ACS mission; “Improving people's lives through the transforming power of chemistry.”

The North Jersey Section represents a dynamic and diverse group of scientists as reflected in the many topical groups and committees. These include the Mass Spectrometry Discussion Group, Chromatography Group, Organic Topical Group, Teacher Affiliates, NMR Topical Group, MetroWomen Chemists Committee, Younger Chemists Committee, Careers in Transition Committee and the NJ Regulatory CMC and Quality Topical Group. These groups offer programs throughout the year and I encourage each of you to regularly check the website ( schedule of the groups of interest to you and attend their meetings. They provide a great opportunity for continuous education and networking, so important in today's environment. Participation will be facilitated by the introduction of our new website (, which is scheduled to go live in early next year and will provide up to date information on NJ ACS related activities. Looking forward to the coming year, we will be presenting the Leo Hendrik Baekeland Award and symposium; look to the calendar for the date. In addition, we will be continuing with our many public outreach activities including Project SEED, National Chemistry Week, and the Chemistry Olympiad.

As a new part of our public outreach, NJACS is partnering with Students 2 Science, a non-profit corporation that inspires, motivates, and educates Middle School Students to pursue careers in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM subjects). There are many opportunities for members to volunteer, work with students, and network. To learn more, please go to:

As Chair of the Section, I will work to increase awareness of the benefits of ACS membership and NJ ACS participation to a wider audience and will continue our efforts to keep the varied and exciting activities of the Section in the national spotlight, so that we get the recognition we deserve for the efforts of our wonderfully dedicated members and volunteers.

As we move into 2013, I hope that many of you will become more involved in one or more activities of the North Jersey ACS section; I further encourage you to contact me with any thoughts, ideas and/or suggestions you may have for the section. I look forward to meeting and working with many of you during the coming year.

Jefferson Tilley

2013 Chair, North Jersey Section ACS


Slide Presentations
on the Value of the ACS:

1. by Steve Waller [ pdf | ppt ]

Past & Present Chairs
of the North Jersey Section
of the American Chemical Society

2013 Jefferson Tilley
2012 Amber Charlebois
2011 Jiwen Chen
2010 Ambarish Singh
2009 Joseph Potenza
2008 Michael Miller
2007 Diane Krone
2006 Stephen Waller
2005 Jacqueline Erickson
2004 Anne Kelly
2003 Ratna Shekhar
2002 John Penna
2001 Bill Suits
2000 Les McQuire
1999 Susan Fahrenholtz
1998 Alan Cooper
1997 Anita J. Brandolini
1996 Michael P. Ferro
1995 Joe Stoner
1994 Malcolm Sturchio
1993 Ann Grant Geoetz
1992 Valerie J. Kuck
1991 George E. Heinze
1990 Jeannette E. Brown
1989 Dorothy S. Lehmkuhl
1988 Richard W.J. Carney
1987 Raymond Baylouny
1986 Maureen G. Chan
1985 Dorit L. Noether
1984 Stan S. Hall
1983 George Luther III
1982 Sister Marian José Smith
1981 Arthur D. Dawson
1980 Shalaby W. Shalaby
1979 Roland F. Hirsch
1978 Frederick W. Bollinger
1977 Heinz D. Roth
1976 Benjamin J. Luberoff
1975 Galen W. Ewing
1974 Arnold D. Lewis
1973 Richard W.J. Carney
1972 Gerald Smolinsky
1971 George E. Heinze
1970 Howard H. Heller
1969 Neil M. Mackenzie
1968 Julian J. Leavitt
1967 Samuel M. Gerber
1966 W. Lincoln Hawkins
1965 Paul V. Smith
1964 John L. Lundberg
1963 Albert W. Meyer
1962 Lawrence T. Eby
1961 E.T. Theimer
1960 William Rieman, III
1959 H.Herbert Fox
1958 Ellis V. Brown
1957 Oskar P. Wintersteiner
1956 V.N. Morris
1955 Karl A. Folkers
1954 Cecil L. Brown
1953 John Lee
1951-52 Burnard S. Biggs & John Lee
1950-51 George L. Royer
1949-50 F.R. Mayo
1948-49 H.F. Wakefield
1947-48 I.D. Gerard
1946-47 W.J. Sparks
1945-46 R.E. Waterman
1944-45 H.E. Riley
1943-44 E.R. Allen
1942-43 C.S. Fuller
1941-42 D.L. Cottle
1940-41 R.T. Major
1939-40 R.J. Moore
1939 R.H. Gerke
1938 M.L. Crossley & R.H. Gerke
1937 M.L. Crossley
1936-37 R.B. Sosman
1936 W.T. Read
1934-35 P.K. Frolich & W.T. Read
1933-34 J.H. Schmidt
1932 G.M. Maverick & A.F. Odell
1931 G.M. Maverick
1930-31 L.V. Redman
1929 A. Merz
1928-29 A. Merz
1928 A. Merz
1927 D. Wesson
1925-26  D. Wesson