North Jersey Section of the ACS
[ back | award background | Call for nominations for 2013 ]
2009 Leo Hendrik Baekeland Award Prof Colin Nuckolls. Click for Dr Nuckolls' webpage Leo Hendrik Baekeland medal - click to enlarge

2009 Leo Hendrik Baekeland Symposium and Award Presentation to

Professor Colin Nuckolls,

Columbia University  

Friday, Nov 13, 2009

Busch Campus Center Building
604 Bartholomew Road
Rutgers University, Piscataway Campus
Piscataway, New Jersey 08854

At the Intersection of Organic Chemistry, Material Science, and Nanotechnology

[ register | pay registration fee | list of posters | flyer (pdf) | directions | parking | campus map ]

11:30 - 12:00


12:00 -  1:00
Hugh Karraker, Great Grandson of Leo Baekeland
      On Baekeland and the 100th Anniversary of Modern Plastics
 1:00 - 1:50
Professor Klaus Mullen, Professor of Chemistry
Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Mainz, Germany
      Self Assembly and Molecular Electronics
  2:00 - 2:35
Break / Poster Presentations
  2:45 - 3:35
Professor Julius Rebek, Professor of Chemistry
The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA
      The Inner Space of Molecules
  3:45 - 4:35
Professor Ronald Breslow, S.L. Mitchill Professor of Chemistry & University Professor
Columbia University, New York, NY
      The Origins of Homochirality on Earth

   4:45 - 5:45

Reception / Social / Poster Presentation

   5:50 - 6:50

Banquet Dinner

   6:50 - 7:00

Presentation of the Baekeland Award

   7:00 - 8:00

Professor Colin Nuckolls, Professor of Chemistry

Columbia University, New York, NY

      Reaction Chemistry Meets Lithography

   Meeting:  The meeting will be held at Rutgers University (Piscataway Campus), at the building called “Busch Campus Center”.

[ driving directions ]

   Parking arrangements:  Rutgers has granted us permission to park in either of two lots:

   Pre-registration is recommended:   Deadline has been extended to Friday, Nov. 6, 2009. 

   Poster presentations: [ Click here for the list of posters ]

Posters will be accepted on a first come first served basis due to space limitation.  This is a good opportunity to showcase your work and network with other scientist.  Please email title of the poster, author's names and a brief abstract by Friday, Nov. 6, 2009 (extended deadline) to: Dr. Ambarish Singh ().

How to Register:  Registration is a two-step process:

    •  First, register online using the registration form below.

    •  Second, pay the registration fee by following the online payment instructions below.

    On-site registration is allowed but not preferred (cash or check only, no credit card).

Registration Fee:  The deadline for pre-registration is October 30 (extended to Nov 6). The fee is:

Normal             $75
Retired/Unemployed $50
Student            $25

Online Payment:  Advance online payment of the registration fee is encouraged:

•  First select a Registration Category
•  Then click

Alternatively, you may pay by U.S. Mail using this [ mail-in form ]

Additional questions: Contact Dr. Michael M. Miller (), Chair of the Baekeland Award Committee.


Registration Form

   On-Line Registration Form for the Nov 13, 2009, Baekeland Symposium   
( to Cancel only – Registration is now closed )

Purpose  (required)
First Name  (required)
Last Name  (required)
E-Mail  (required)
Institutional Affiliation  (required)
Street Address 
City, State, Zip 
Presenting a Poster? yes no (required)
Poster Title 
Note: If you're planning to present a poster,
please also send an email to Ambarish Singh () with the poster title, abstract and names of all authors, by Oct 30 (extended to Nov 6).
Phone        (required)
I will pay online by check       (required)

Please review the above data for accuracy before submitting


Email to WebMaster