North Jersey Section of the ACS
Leo Hendrik Baekeland medal - click to enlarge

Call for Nominations for the 2013 Baekeland Award

[ back | award details ]

The North Jersey Section of the American Chemical Society is soliciting nominations for the 2013 Leo Hendrik Baekeland Award. The Award consists of a gold medal and a $5,000 honorarium. The Section presents the Award biannually to commemorate the technical and industrial achievements of Leo Hendrik Baekeland and to encourage younger chemists to emulate his example. The Award is given in recognition of accomplishments in pure or applied chemistry to an American chemist as characterized by the initiative, creativeness, leadership, and perseverance of the individual (indicated by published or unpublished evidence) and who will be under the age of 40 as of January 1, 2013.

Nominations for the Award should include a letter describing the nominee's achievements, a brief biography, and a list of the nominee's more important publications. Successful nomination packets include two to three recommendation letters supporting the candidate. Re-nominations are encouraged, provided the age requirement is still met.

Please submit materials by December. 31, 2012, to:

Please submit materials  by Dec. 31, 2012  to:

Dr. Michael M. Miller
Baekeland Award Committee
Bristol-Myers Squibb Company
Route 206 & Province Line Road
Princeton, NJ 08543