North Jersey Section of the ACS


The Education Committee of the Section oversees educational activities and awards. The Committee specifically administers the Edward J. Merrill Award for High School chemistry teachers and cooperates in the dissemination of information and the recommendation of nominees for the E. Emmet Reid Award in Chemistry Teaching at Small Colleges, the Cecil L. Brown Lectureship, the Regional MARM Award for High School Chemistry Teaching, the National ACS James Bryant Conant Award in High School Chemsitry Teaching, the Harvey Russell Award, and the Chemistry Olympiad Awards.

To obtain further information about the Awards Committee please contact:
Dr. George R. Gross, Chair
445 Wyoming Avenue
Millburn NJ 07041-2131

Committee Members include:

Ray Baylouny Fairleigh Dickinson University
Maureen Chan Retired, Lucent
Patricia Duncan Ramapo HS
Bobbie Gorman Retired, North Brunswick HS
Bettyann Howson Chatham High School
Allene Johnson Retired, Summit High School
Diane Krone No Higlands Regional HS
Val Kuck, Retired, Lucent
John Penna Gov. Livingston HS
Sr. Marian José Smith College of Saint Elizabeth



The Merrill Award recognizes outstanding high school chemistry teachers, from the North Jersey Section, for excellence in high school teaching. The 2009 Winner is Dr. Ara Kahyaoglu from Bergenfield High School.

Nomination Form for The Edward J. Merrill Award

The Merrill Award Preliminary Nomination Form may be submitted at any time but only those received before Decmeber 1, will be considered for that year beginning in January.

[ Click Here for Printable Form ]

Past Recipients
1973 Dr. Edwin H Cooper, Madison High School
1974 Dr. Dorothea Hoffman, Westfield High School,
James Bryant Conant Winner
1975 Rex T. Morrison, West Essex High School
1976 George R. Hague, Jr., Bernards High School
1977 No Award Presented – Begins Merrill Award Title
1978 Thomas Kietrys, West Morris Central High School
1979 Otto Salzer, Linden High School,
Middle Atlantic Regional Award
1980 James Gardner, Millburn High School
1981 Gerald Walker, Livingston High School
1982 Raymond Bangs, Roselle Park High School
1983 Dorothy Lehmkuhl, Lyndhurst High School
1984 Allene Johnson, Summit High School,
Middle Atlantic Regional Award
1985 Marlene Rudder, Morris Knolls High School
1986 Dr. George R. Gross, Union High School
1987 Edmund Heilmeier, Parsippany Hills High School
1988 Margaret Hicks, East Side High School
1989 Valerie Schroder, Passaic High School
1990 Lorena Tyson, Montclair High School,
Middle Atlantic Regional Award
1991 Kathleen Foley, Northern Valley Regional High School
1992 Robert Middleton, West Orange High School
1993 Bradley Lakefield, Hawthorne High School
1994 Steven Middleton, Mount Olive High School
1995 John Penna, Governor Livingston High School,
Middle Atlantic Regional Award
1995 Alan Sills, West Essex Regional High School
1996 Donna Carpinelli, Clifton High School
1997 David Lee, Mountain Lakes High School,
Middle Atlantic Regional Award
1998 Allan Hodge, Warren Hills High School
1998 Alicia Rice, Barringer High School
1999 BettyAnn Howson, Chatham High School
2000 Borislaw Bilash, James Caldwell High School
2000 Patricia Ruff, Watchung Regional High School
2001 John Koob, Queen of Peace High School
2002 Diane Krone, Northern Valley Regional High School
2003 Bobbi Gorman, Roselle Park High School
2004 Fran Zakutanski, Pascack Valley Regional High School
2005 Brenda Rosenau, Somerville High School
2006 Guy Morin from Ridgewood High School
2007 Claire Miller from Madison High School
2008 Mridula Bajaj from Science High School, Newark
2009 Ara Kahyaoglu from Bergenfield High School



The E. Emmet Reid Award is administered by the Steering Committee of the Middle-Atlantic Regional Meeting (MARM) for outstanding achievements in teaching chemical sciences at small colleges within the Middle-Atlantic Region.

A small college is an educational institution which has an established B.S. and no Ph.D. teaching program in chemistry or chemical sciences.

The Award consists of $750.00 and a major Award Plaque.



The Cecil L. Brown Lectureship is awarded periodically and is designed to bring outstanding chemists on campus. It provides a $2,000 grant to a department that awards the Ph.D. degree. [ details... ]

Past Recipients
1969 Paul Flory
1970 Vladimir Prelog
1972 Robert Reid
1973 Linus Pauling
1974 Burt Christensen
1975 Anthony M. Trozzolo
1976 James Roth -- Spring  
1976 Max Tischler -- Fall
     1978 Robert Lawrence & Kurt Frisch  
1979 Leo Sternbach
1980 Melvin Calvin
1982 Herbert C. Brown
1984 Alexander Rich
1986 Sir John Vane
1988 Paul Bartlett
1990 Joseph Laskowski
1992 Kyriacos Nicolaou
1994 Dudley Herschbach
1996 Peter B. Dervan
1998 Ronald Breslow
2006 Robin Hochstrasser
2009 Robert Langer



The MARM Award is presented at the MARM meeting to one teacher from the sponsoring sections. The winner is selected by the MARM Committee. Nomination is through receipt of the Section Award (Edward J. Merrill Award)
in High School Chemistry Teaching. The Regional Award consists of $1,000 and a Certificate of Recognition for
the recipient and another for the recipient's school.



The James Bryant Conant Award is sponsored by the Ethyl Corporation. Selection is from Regional Award winners and others nominated where regional awards do not exist. The winner is chosen by the National Award Committee.

The Conant Award consists of $5,000 and a certificate and is presented at the Annual Spring Meeting of the ACS.



Dr. Ara Kahyaoglu

May 17, 2009 Award Banquet – Dr. Ara Kahyaoglu from Bergenfield HS receives the Edward J. Merrill Award for Excellence in HS Chemistry Teaching from NoJACS secretary Bettyann Howson

Past Recipients
2006 – Jeannette Brown
2009 – Richard Moog